Loading...

Community Action Partnerships

Our Local Community Action Partnerships put power in the hands of impoverished and struggling people, providing local direction so that citizens can decide how to best meet the needs of their community.

We make it clear to residents of the communities we serve that they are not alone in their fight against poverty, crime, homelessness and hunger; and we provide them with the tools they need to overcome their barriers to self-sufficiency.

Some aid programs provide only short-term assistance, leaving recipients temporarily out of harm’s way but without the skills and resources needed to break the cycle of poverty, be self-sufficient and achieve financial independence. But Community Action is different.

Community Action is based on the principle that local control can best provide for sustainable community development, as well as the now-familiar notion that a “hand up” is preferable to a “handout.”

The Community Action Program dates back to 1964, when it was included in the Economic Opportunity Act under President Lyndon Johnson’s War on Poverty. Since then, more than 1,000 Community Action Agencies (CAAs) have been founded in the United States, serving more than 99% of counties. The primary source of federal funding for CAAs is the Community Services Block Grant (CSBG).

.

Our neighborhood service centers are the hubs around which our company’s community action system revolve.  They serve the critical role of advocates for impoverished and minority constituencies, assisting them in organizing in order to influence the larger community’s allocation of resources; keeping their interests before local governments, public and private agencies.  CAPs serve to:

  • identify local needs
  • provide vital resources to neighborhood and community groups
  • secure professional and technical assistance
  • provide direct services to individuals who have no where else to turn
Eastchester_Use

Eastchester C.A.P

Director: Don Brown
Phone: 914.337.7768
E-Mail: dbrown@westcop.org
Address: 142 Main Street,
Tuckahoe, NY 10707.

Greenburgh_Use

Greenburgh/
Elmsford C.A.P.

Director: Amanda Kyle-Shaw
Phone: 914.761.6605
E-Mail: akyle-shaw@westcop.org
Theodore D. Young Community Center
32 Manhattan Avenue, 2nd Floor
White Plains, NY 10607

.

MtVernon_Use

Mt. Vernon C.A.P.

Director: Kiron Dawkins
Phone: 914-664-8680
E-Mail: kdawkins@westcop.org
Address: 28 East 1st. St.
Mt. Vernon, NY 10550

nr2

New Rochelle C.A.P.

Director: Rev. Harry Dawkins, PhD.
Phone: 914-636-3050
E-Mail: hdawkins@westcop.org
Address: 95 Lincoln Ave.
New Rochelle, NY 10801

Peekskill_Use

Peekskill C.A.P.

Directors: Mary Rainey & Doris Goodson
Email: MRainey@westcop.org
Email: DGoodson@westcop.org
Phone: (914) 739-1451
Address:  709 Main St.,
Peekskill, NY 10566

.

putnamCAP

Putnam C.A.P.

Director: Judy Callahan
E-Mail: Director@putnamcap.org
Phone: 845.278.8021 ext. 17
Address:  121 Main St.,
Brewster, New York 10509

.

rocklandCAP

Rockland C.A.P.

Director: Horace Turnbull
Email: hturnbull@westcop.org
Phone: (845) 728-0688
Address: 17 W. Broad Street, Haverstraw, NY 10927
or
Phone: (845) 262-1987
94 N. Main Street, Spring Valley, NY 10977

tt1

Tarrytown C.O.C.

Director: Doris Inzar
Email:  DInzar@westcop.org
Phone: (914) 631-7340
Tarrytown Community Opportunity Center
105 Wildey Street,
Tarrytown, NY 10591

.

whiteplainCAP

White Plains C.A.P.

Interim Director: John Rossi
Email: jrossi@westcop.org
(914) 428-7030, ext. 1005
Address:  70 Ferris Ave,
White Plains, NY 10603